*International orders are temporarily unavailable. We apologise for any inconvenience.*

I'll Be There: My Life with the Four Tops

I'll Be There: My Life with the Four Tops

Omnibus Press
Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

By Duke Fakir with Kathleen McGhee Anderson

Spanning over decades, this is the remarkable, heartfelt memoir from Abdul ‘Duke’ Fakir, the last surviving member of The Four Tops. Amidst a backdrop of Detroit, I’ll Be There features revealing anecdotes from the group’s formation, their early days as backup singers for the likes of Jackie Wilson, and their years working with Berry Gordy at the legendary Motown Records.

With era-defining number ones like ‘I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)’ and ‘Reach Out I’ll Be There’ came stardom and also a more enduring reward: the love of four men who become tighter than brothers. Together they comprise one of the most celebrated R&B groups of all time. But remarkable musical success didn’t spare Fakir the pain of marital distress, soured investment deals, struggles with sobriety and the sudden loss of his brothers, all of which he covers in this confessional, unmissable book.

'Touching, affectionate memoir... Duke Fakir's recollections are engaging throughout, but most thrilling in their evocation of '60s Detroit... this is a feel-good story' Mojo, 4*

‘[An] honest, uplifting, and beautiful book’ Airmail

'An authentic and honest story... a stunning account of Duke Fakir’s life and the legacy of the Four Tops.' Common Reader

Publication Date: 05.05.22
ISBN: 9781913172596
Extent: 240 pages
Format: Hardback & eBook

***Please note, if out of stock at our warehouse, this title can be purchased at all good high street and online booksellers***

By buying directly from our site, you're supporting your publisher and authors. Read any eBook you purchase from us on the Glassboxx app, available on iOS, Android and Desktop.